What Happens When You Sign Out of Apple ID

When you sign out of apple id you’re effectively logging out of all the Apple services you use. This includes things like iCloud, the App Store, and iTunes. If you’re signed out of apple id and need to use one of these services, you’ll need to sign back in with apple id

Checkout this video:

Introduction

Signing out of apple id is simple and only takes a moment. But what exactly happens when you do? Depending on what devices you use and how you use them, signing out of apple id can have different consequences. In this article, we’ll go over what happens when you sign out of your Apple ID on different devices and in different situations.

When you sign out of your Apple ID, you’re signed out of all the Apple services that you use with that Apple ID. That includes iCloud, the App Store, iTunes Store, iMessage, FaceTime, and more. You won’t be able to access any of those services until you sign back in with your Apple ID.

What Happens to iMessages?

When you sign out of your Apple ID, you can no longer send or receive iMessages. This is because iMessage uses your Apple ID to route messages through Apple’s servers. If your iPhone is running iOS 7 or later, you may be able to continue using iMessage by signing in with a different Apple ID.

What Happens to iCloud?

When you sign out of your Apple ID, you will be signed out of iCloud. This means that you will no longer have access to any iCloud features or data, including but not limited to:

-iCloud Backup
-iCloud Photo Library
-iCloud Drive
-iMessage
-FaceTime
-App Store
-iBooks

In short, signing out of your Apple ID will effectively disable all iCloud features on your device. If you have any data stored in iCloud that you wish to keep, be sure to back it up before signing out.

What Happens to iTunes & App Store?

When you sign out of your Apple ID, you’re signing out of all the services that use your Apple ID. This includes iTunes & App Store purchases, iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, and Game Center. You won’t lose any of your content, but you might have to re-enter some information when you sign back in.

What Happens to Find My iPhone?

If you use iCloud to back up your device, signing out of your Apple ID will turn off iCloud backups for that device. This means that the next time you back up your device, it will create a new backup that doesn’t include any of your previous iCloud backups. You can continue to access and download your iCloud backups from iCloud.com.

What Happens to AirDrop?

If you have been using AirDrop to share content with other Apple devices, signing out of your Apple ID will prevent you from using this feature. Any devices that you have been sharing content with will no longer be able to see your device as an option when they attempt to use AirDrop.

What Happens to Apple Pay?

If you sign out of your Apple ID, you will be signed out of all Apple services on that device. This includes Apple Pay. You will need to sign in again with your Apple ID use apple pay

What Happens to Continuity?

Continuity is a set of features that lets you move easily between your Apple devices — for example, making and receiving phone calls on your iPad even if your iPhone isn’t nearby. When you sign out of your Apple ID on one of your devices, you’re signed out of all of them. That means that features like Continuity won’t work on that device until you sign in again.

What Happens to Photos, Mail, Notes, and More?

In short, when you sign out of iCloud, you’ll lose access to its features and data—like iCloud Drive and Contacts—on that device. But any existing local copies of iCloud data will stay on your device. So if you’re signing out because you’re selling your iPhone, these are the iCloud features and data that will go away:

– iCloud Drive: All the files stored in iCloud Drive will be removed from your device. They’ll still be available on any other devices where you’re signed in to iCloud Drive.
– Mail: Mail messages and drafts will be removed from your device. They’ll still be available on any other devices where you’re signed in to iCloud Mail.
– Notes: All the notes stored in iCloud will be removed from your device. They’ll still be available on any other devices where you’re signed in to iCloud Notes.
– Calendar: Any calendars stored in iCloud will be removed from your device. They’ll still be available on any other devices where you’re signed in to iCloud Calendar.
– Reminders: Any reminders stored in iCloud will be removed from your device. They’ll still be available on any other devices where you’re signed in to iCloud Reminders.
– Safari: Safari’s browsing history, open tabs, bookmarks, and Reading List items that are saved in iCloud will be removed from your device. They’ll still be available on any other devices where you’re signed in to Safari.
– Keychain: Passwords and account information that’s stored in Safari’s keychain—like website logins—will be removed from your device but remain accessible via Safari on other devices where you’re signed in with the same Apple ID.

Wrapping Up

When you sign out of your Apple ID, you’re signing out of all the services that use your Apple ID. This includes iCloud, the App Store, iTunes, iMessage,facedownstairsand more. If you have an iPhone, iPad ipod touch with iOS 7 or later, you can also sign out of iCloud by going to Settings > iCloud and tapping Sign Out.

Scroll to Top