How to Hard Reset Your Apple Watch

If you need to hard reset apple watch follow these quick and easy steps. We’ll walk you through the process of force restarting your device, as well as how factory reset apple watch if you need start from scratch.

Checkout this video:

Open the Settings app on your Apple Watch.

Resetting your Apple Watch can solve many everyday problems. If your Apple Watch is acting up, or you want to sell it, you should hard reset it. This will erase all of the data on the device, including any credit or debit cards you have added for Apple Pay and any passcodes you have set.

Doing a hard reset is also a good way to debug any issues you may be having with your watch. If none of the simpler troubleshooting tricks work, then you can try a hard reset and see if that helps fix the problem. Here’s how to do it:

Open the Settings app on your Apple Watch. Tap General. Tap Reset. Tap Erase All Content and Settings. Enter your passcode if prompted. Tap Erase All to confirm that you want to erase everything on your watch.

Once the process is finished, your Apple Watch will be wiped clean and restarted just like it was when you first got it.

Tap General.

If your Apple Watch is acting up, you can try restarting it, force quitting apps, or resetting all settings. If none of those steps work, you may need to erase your content and start from scratch.

Before you erase, you should back up your Apple Watch. Once it’s backed up, you can unpair your watch from your iPhone and then erase it. You can also factory reset your Apple Watch without unpairing it from your iPhone, but that will also delete the content on your iPhone that is synced with the watch. And finally, if you can’t access the settings on your Apple Watch because it’s unresponsive, you can force restart it.

1. Tap General.
2. Tap Reset.
3. Tap Erase all Content and Settings.
4. Enter your passcode if prompted.
5. Tap Erase all to confirm.

Tap Reset.

If you can’t turn off your Apple Watch or if the problem continues, you may need to reset it. A reset doesn’t erase the information on your Apple Watch. You’ll need to enter your passcode if you have one.
1. On your Apple Watch, press and hold the side button until you see the Power Off slider.
2. Drag the slider to turn off your watch.
3. Press and hold the side button again until you see the Apple logo.

Tap Erase All Content and Settings.

If you need to factory-reset your Apple Watch, there are two ways to do it. One is called a “soft reset,” which keeps your data but takes care of any frozen apps or stubborn settings; the other is a “hard reset,” which erases all data on the watch and returns it to its factory default settings.

Here’s how to do both:

Factory resetting an Apple Watch using Settings
1. Open the Settings app on your Apple Watch.
2. Scroll down and tap General.
3. Scroll down and tap Reset.
4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
5. Enter your passcode, if prompted.
6. Tap Erase Everything to confirm you want to erase all content and settings from your watch.

Hard resetting an Apple Watch using buttons
1. Press and hold both the side button and Digital Crown simultaneously for at least 10 seconds, or until you see the Apple logo appear on the screen.

Enter apple id password, if prompted.

After you enter apple id password you might see a spinning wheel on your Apple Watch for a few seconds. If you see this, wait for the process to finish.

To force restart your watch, press and hold both the side button and Digital Crown for at least 10 seconds, then release when you see the Apple logo.

Tap Erase All.

If you can’t turn off your Apple Watch or if it’s unresponsive, you can force it to restart. For example, you might do this as part of troubleshooting.

To restart your Apple Watch, press and hold both the side button and Digital Crown for at least 10 seconds, then release when you see the Apple logo.

You can also use the Settings app to restart your Apple Watch:

1. On your iPhone, open the watch app
2. Tap the My Watch tab, then tap General > Reset.
3. Tap Erase All Content and Settings, then enter your passcode if prompted.
4. Finally, tap Erase All to confirm.

Scroll to Top